Coláiste an Átha’s junior basketball team finished their successful season yesterday beating FCJ Bunclody in South East Regional final played in Waterford Mercy Convent. The final score was 34-12 . Along the way to the final the girls have played Coláiste BhrÍde Carnew , Coláiste BrÍde Enniscorthy , Creagh College Gorey ,Our Lady of Lourdes Rosbercon New Ross, GaelCholáiste Phort Láirge and FCJ Bunclody . TEAM LIST: Michaella Milling (Capt), Isabelle Kisov (Vice Capt), Therése Lawless, Megan Browne, Keeva Dempsey, Shona Proctor Laird, Naoise Murphy, Evelyn Saulite,, Emma Atkins Quigley, Lily Grey, Orla Bradly, Charlie Reid and Abagail Duffy.
MVP in the final was Michaela Milling . playing Point Guard she was consistently good in offence and defence. A classy performance would be good description of Michaelas’ game ,she was to the forefront in play making, interceptions fast breaks and shooting. Equally effective was Isabelle Kisov who claimed an amazing 16 points (top scorer) and was a powerhouse in screening, rebounding and blocking. Once again Therese Lawless used her athleticism to rebound , attack and particularly being able to get back in defence . She was tireless and never slowed throughout the match. Megan Browne was doggedly determined taking the sideline and baseline passes to great effect and contributed very effectively stealing passes interceptions and playmaking. Keeva Dempsey worked hard in defence along with Shona Protor Laird who played despite a niggling injury both girls did their team proud. The first years subbing up give us great hope for a budding team next season with Emma Atkins Quigley using her strength in offences plays and even get on the scoreboard, Lily Gray as always was faultless in defence as was Evelyn Saulite. Overall it was a great season for the girls and congratulation on their performances and their determination throughout the tournament . A big thank you to our score keepers / throughout the year Ian O’ Reilly Jack Whelan, Mitchell Deane , Sophie O’Brien, Rebecca Moran and coaches Blánaid Fogarty and Ian O’Reilly.

Category: Sport